SADC-RTGS operations  

The SADC-RTGS (formerly known as SIRESS) is the regional cross-border real-time gross settlement (RTGS) system in the SADC region. It is an automated interbank settlement system operated by the South African Reserve Bank, as appointed by the SADC participating member central banks. Participants in SADC-RTGS include central banks and financial institutions, i.e. banks and non-banks in the SADC region that are authorised by their respective central bank to participate.

Membership comprises 16 countries namely, Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

In 1992, Member States signed the SADC Treaty committing the regional group to work together in order to: achieve development and economic growth, alleviate poverty, enhance the standard and quality of life of the people of Southern Africa, and support the socially disadvantaged through regional integration. The SADC-RTGS payment platform went live on 22 July 2013 with high-value payments.

Banks and non-banks interested in joining the SADC-RTGS can contact Mrs. Alison Sloane at  or click the following link:


Southern African Development Community Real-Time Gross Settlement (SADC-RTGS) System

The SADC regional cross-border settlement system is called SADC Integrated Regional Electronic Settlement System. The system has been in operation since July 2013. It is an automated interbank settlement system, which settles payment obligations between participating banks on either real-time or delayed basis.  The current system settles payments denoted in ZAR (South African rands). There are considerations to include additional currencies on the system in the near future. The SADC RTGS System is operated by the SARB as appointed by the participating SADC central banks. Participants include central banks and financial institutions i.e. banks and non-banks in SADC that are authorised by the central bank in the country of origin to participate in that country’s settlement system.

The SARB operates the SADC-RTGS system, which facilitates the settlement of cross-border transactions in the SADC region. The system is owned by SADC central banks through the Committee of Central Bank Governors (CCBG) and settles regional transactions in real time. Participants include central banks and financial institutions that are authorised by the central bank in their country of origin to participate in that country's settlement system. The system settles payments denoted in South African rand (ZAR); however, additional currencies may be included in the near future.


Principles for Financial Market Infrastructures (PFMI) self-assessment reports

The SARB conducts self-assessments against the PFMI issued in April 2012 by the Bank for International Settlements’ Committee on Payments and Market Infrastructures (CPMI) and the Technical Committee of the International Organization of Securities Commissions (IOSCO). A self-assessment outlines the observance of the principles based on the status of operations of the SADC-RTGS system.

Related documents

SADC-RTGS PFMIs Disclosure Framework 2022

SADC-RTGS (SIRESS) PFMI Self-Assessment 2021

SADC-RTGS (SIRESS) PFMI Self-Assessment 2018

SADC-RTGS PFMI Self-Assessment 2022 Public Disclosure

SADC-RTGS PFMI Self-Assessment 2018 Public Disclosure

SIRESS PFMI Self-Assessment 2014

Transactions Cleared on an Immediate Basis (TCIB) Payment Scheme Project

Related documents

Stakeholders Engagement plan
Environmental and Social Commitment Plan (ESCP)


SADC-RTGS publications

SADC-RTGS Statement of Objectives
SADC-RTGS Criteria for Participation Suspension Termination

SADC-RTGS Communication Updates & Event



SADC-RTGS Cost Recovery Model 2022-2023
PFMIs Disclosure Framework 2022

SADC-RTGS newsletters

SADC-RTGS Newsletter: Issue 1 - June 2019


SADC PSOC activities

SADC PSOC Report - April 2010 to September 2021

SADC PSOC Report - April 2017 to March 2019

SADC-RTGS Customer Support Centre
Operational hours
Monday 08:30 – 17:00
Tuesday 08:30 – 17:00
Wednesday 08:30 – 17:00
Thursday 08:30 – 17:00
Friday 08:30 – 17:00
Saturday None
Sunday None


Contact Details

Telephone no:  +27 12 313 4622

E-mail address:

Portal Link:  Customer Service Management